II Peter 2

Status
Not open for further replies.

Barnpreacher

Puritan Board Junior
I'm studying II Peter 2 at the moment. I've read it a ton of times before, but it's never hit me like this. Especially verse 1 where it says that the false teachers deny the Lord that bought them. I've studied dispensationalists all my Christian life that would simply say that Peter is a book to the Jews. It doesn't apply to the church age. I don't buy that now, but here's what I'm trying to get at.

The verse says what it says. It says that some people were bought by the Lord and then they die and go into the mist of darkness forever according to verse 17. This is a bit of a problem for dispensationalists and Calvinists alike isn't it? For the dispensationalists that say this is only applicable to the Jew matters very little. They were still "bought" by the Lord and then die and go to the mist of darkness forever. Doesn't matter if it's Jew or Gentile somebody who had been bought isn't making it to heaven.

For the Calvinist it goes against the perseverance of the saints doesn't it? Those that are truly elect will persevere. If someone claims to be born again, but then goes away from Jesus then they were never really of him. But the verse in Peter makes it clear that they were bought by the Lord. Sounds like they were elect because only the elect are the ones that Christ died to redeem. But how can this verse refer to the elect in light of John 17, Romans 8 etc.??

Gill makes the point that the Greek word for Lord here in Peter is despotes and not kurios. Despotes is never used in Scripture to refer to Jesus as kurios is used when Jesus is referred to as Lord. So he's trying to say that the buying in II Peter 2:1 is not actually the redemption that the cross purchased. I'd like to be able to buy that, but if that is true then what is the "bought" referring to in that verse?