Is my position on the Evolution vs. Creationism debate Biblical?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Anglicanorthodoxy

Puritan Board Freshman
I'm a senior at an all-male prep school. I'll be headed to college next year. I'm very passionate about political philosophy. I also love studying the Classics( literature, history, philosophy, languages) Theology is also something I love studying. I'm a very strong student in the Humanities. However, when it comes to science, I'm not nearly as interested. I'm bored to death in science courses.( I only get average grades in science) I take a midway position on the evolution vs. creationism debate. I believe that no matter how creation happened, or how long it took, God did it. I don't take a particular position , because I'm no expert on science, and because I just don't know. So I'm a scientific agnostic.( an agnostic when it comes to science) I think YEC, OEC, ID, and even Theistic Evolution are OK positions to hold( as long as it doesn't exclude God from the process, and as long as it doesn't deny the historicity of Adam and Eve) The reason I have such a hard time embracing YEC or OEC is because the scientific community thinks Creationism is a joke. But I'm not a huge fan of Theistic Evolution either. That's why I said, I just don't know. I don't take any position. I say that no matter how it happened, God did it. Is my position Biblical? J. Gresham Machen seemed to have a similar position on the issue.

as long as it doesn't deny the historicity of Adam and Eve

This tends to be the main problem with theistic evolution. There is really no way to embrace any sort of evolution without also conceding that Adam and Eve were likely not literal people ,and certainly were not the first humans, and that death almost certainly existed before the fall. All of this has serious implications for the gospel.