Jesus -plus or minus nothing???

Status
Not open for further replies.

Richard King

Puritan Board Senior
I have a dear friend since my college days ( a Methodist preacher's son) who has maintained for years that NOTHING in the Bible matters but the red letters. He has always said that he is like Thomas Jefferson in that regard,
only interested in Christ's opinion.

Now I have another friend who is warning me against LEANING towards Calvin because ( in his opinion ) I am studying the Apostle Paul more than I am studying the words of Jesus. This friend keeps ranting...its all about Jesus...plus or minus nothing!

How would you respond to this position? Is it even worth responding?

For one thing, it would be very hard to even make a sound case for the Christian worldview without viewing Scripture as a revealed whole, in light of the doctrines of inspiration, providence, prophecy, etc. There is basically no logical or systematic way to arrive at a position of Jesus' words being the only inspired writing; and that is the position your friend would need to take in order to consistently affirm that they are the only Scriptures worth reading, because of 2 Timothy 3:16.

Also, I would ask him what he makes of the fact that Jesus cited the Old Testament so many times in an authoritative way. Similarly, has he ever read the red letters of John 16:13, where Jesus says the Spirit will guide the disciples into all truth? That of course has massive implications for the necessity, authority and benefit of the other "black-lettered" New Testament Scriptures.

Originally posted by Richard King
I have a dear friend since my college days ( a Methodist preacher's son) who has maintained for years that NOTHING in the Bible matters but the red letters.

How would you respond to this position?

I'm supposing that this person is referring to the red letter Bible, in which Jesus' words are in red. However, its the words in black that tell us that the words in red are Jesus' words.