John 19:17

Status
Not open for further replies.

Greg

Puritan Board Sophomore
Hello everyone, it's been quite some time since my last post. I've been taking a bit of a hiatus from the interwebz for various reasons for a while, but admittedly I did pop in every once in a while to read some of the threads.

I recently started learning Koine Greek through Mounce's book. I have a question for those much more learned in this language than I:

"And he bearing his cross went forth into a place called the place of a skull, which is called in the Hebrew Golgotha" - (KJV)

"and he went out, bearing his own cross, to the place called The Place of a Skull, which in Aramaic is called Golgotha" - (ESV)

I'm seeing the Greek word Ἑβραϊστὶ (Hebraisti) in this passage as being translated as 'Hebrew' in the KJV and as "Aramaic' in the ESV. Why the difference?

I use the Blue Letter Bible classic website (http://www.blbclassic.org/) for my study tools. Not knowing Greek I wondered if your question would be responsive to regular study tool methods. For example, when I do a word study I ask myself questions like:

Where is the lexicon entry for the Greek word?
http://www.blbclassic.org/lang/lexicon/lexicon.cfm?Strongs=G1447&t=KJV

What is the definition?

Is this same Greek word used in different places? (This can provide meaning by context if the definition is not specific enough.)

In this case the Greek word occurs in 6 verses. In 5 of those verses it is specifically referring to another word in a different language. Those words could then be also looked up in the Greek lexicon. This might help to whether or not your word only means Hebrew or might be referring to a different language or dialect.​

Is the English word "Hebrew" used in other NT verses not covered so far? If so, what are the underlying Greek words and lexicon entries in those places?
http://www.blbclassic.org/search/translationResults.cfm?criteria=hebrew&csr=9&sstr=1&t=KJV