Looking for feedback and thoughts

Status
Not open for further replies.

SpurgeonFan1689

Puritan Board Freshman
I know that there are several discussions on these forums regarding “reformed friendly” seminaries but I really would appreciate some feedback from this community of believers. I’m going to share my thoughts to see how others view my situation. I tend to overthink things, so please be patient.

I am a bivocational Baptist pastor at a southern baptist church. I myself am reformed. I am at a situation in my life where Money is tight. I really feel led to continue my seminary education and pursue a M.Div. I am seriously considering TNARS, it is a legit program, reformed and has a great price (Free). I am very impressed.

However, there is part of me that has trouble at the idea of pouring my time and energy into this program and it not being regionally accredited through the Higher learning commission or by the Association of Theological Schools. If I wanted to go further one day to a Doctorate or transfer credits to another degree program at an accredited institution, I would have to start all over. I know that a question I have to ask myself is “what do I intend to do with this program and what do I need it for.”

I want to learn more, I want to go deeper, and I realize that a program doesn’t have to be accredited for it to be of value to me. I can learn just as much if not more and have a better overall experience at a school that isn’t accredited than that of one that is. But it seems to me that there is a viewpoint out there that exists that has told me that a degree from an unaccredited school is “worth the paper it’s printed on.”