Looking for recommendations (Central TX, possibly elsewhere)

Status
Not open for further replies.

F.Rivera

Puritan Board Freshman
Hey All,

As stated in the title, I would love some advice and recommendations on seminaries to consider. Heres some background: I am a graduate of Philadelphia biblical university with a BS in Bible. i graduated in 2011 and worked in a presbyterian church plant (PCA) post college in a staff function. later after many life events I joined the military active duty and have been doing so for a few years and am stationed in Fort Bliss TX. I have lately been feeling led to become an Army Chaplain. I have spoken with pastors, friends mentors and my wife and many have felt that it is a ministry I should pursue. i am being moved later this year to Fort Sam Houston by the Army and would like to stay in the area but would move for a strong seminary if nothing in the area is worth pursuing.

All that in mind, my short list included redeemer until recent events in their staff have made me question pursuing an education with them. My list also included westminster east and west (right at the top) and possibly Denver theological (they are very customizable) or Austin presbyterian theological (but they are fairly new to me).

Do you have any suggestions? considerations?

if you have any Questions feel free to ask!

I appreciate all your thoughts, prayers and words!

Redeemer Austin is probably going to be the only thing in commuting distance from San Antonio. Bradley has things stabilized for now - most of the faculty decided to stay. Long term, issues are probably going to need to be addressed. And it's probably the best bet in Central Texas at this point.

Reformed has a program in Houston. https://www.rts.edu/houston/

If you move, you might consider RTS Jackson. You've mentioned Westminster Philly.

You also might private message Ben - he's an active duty chaplain.