"Lordship" Salvation, Free Grace, MacArthur, RT

Status
Not open for further replies.

Maestroh

Puritan Board Freshman
As there are two other threads dealing with John MacArthur, I wanted to get the PB's view on the issue for which he is probably best-known (and I don't mean cessationism :) - lordship salvation. Before beginning, please indulge me for a moment.

I am presently a student at Dallas Theological Seminary. The prime movers in the 'free grace' argument are former DTS professors Zane Hodges, Charles Ryrie, and DTS grad (both Th.M. and Ph.D.) Bob Wilkin, who happens to reside here in Lewisville (TX).

Their view has, in fact, always been a minority view even on the campus of DTS (although the founder, LS Chafer, held essentially the same views) as it is today even among the profs. I fall more towards the MacArthur position on this issue and while I concur with a number of observations that he is not classically Reformed, he was a major impetus in my own journey from Pelgianism to so-called 'soft Calvinism.'

So the question is this: where would most of you fall on this position? In the Hodges-Ryrie-Wilkin camp, the MacArthur camp, on another side or somewhere in between?

Those of you who have read "The Gospel Under Siege" by Zane Hodges probably saw a number of his task takings with Reformed theology. (I love how many people claim John Calvin held their view; if Calvin held every view I've ever heard imputed to him, he'd be a Pelgian-Arian-Baptist-Separated-Theologian, or PABST as in the beer :).

I will sit back and watch for a bit, but please indulge me with your Reformed views. God bless you,

The Maestroh

As there are two other threads dealing with John MacArthur, I wanted to get the PB's view on the issue for which he is probably best-known (and I don't mean cessationism :) - lordship salvation. Before beginning, please indulge me for a moment.