Maybe a dumb question but...

Status
Not open for further replies.

Reformingstudent

Puritan Board Junior
Coming from someone who is some what new to the idea of EP and the idea that musical instruments in the church is a violation of RPW, what I want to know than is this, was David going against the Lord's command when he wrote in Psalm 150 when he called for the trumpet,lute,lyre and the stringed instruments and cymbals to praise the Lord?
Please forgive my great ignorance in this matter as I said before, I am still learning. Thanks.

Psa 150:1 Praise Jehovah. Praise God in His sanctuary; praise Him in the expanse of His power.
Psa 150:2 Praise Him for His mighty acts; praise Him according to His excellent greatness.
Psa 150:3 Praise Him with the sound of the trumpet; praise Him with the harp and lyre.
Psa 150:4 Praise Him with the timbrel and dance; praise Him with stringed instruments and pipes.
Psa 150:5 Praise Him on the sounding cymbals; praise Him with the resounding cymbals.
Psa 150:6 Let everything that breathes praise Jehovah. Praise Jehovah!

Obviously not, since Psalm 150 (not written by David) was written under the inspiration of the Holy Spirit. God never contradicts Himself.

Musical instruments are perfectly legitimate in worship.

Obviously not, since Psalm 150 (not written by David) was written under the inspiration of the Holy Spirit. God never contradicts Himself.

Musical instruments are perfectly legitimate in worship.

My mistake. I thought David had wrote that Psalm. Anyway whoever wrote it was inspired by the Holy Spirit and it is God's Word.

Coming from someone who is some what new to the idea of EP and the idea that musical instruments in the church is a violation of RPW, what I want to know than is this, was David going against the Lord's command when he wrote in Psalm 150 when he called for the trumpet,lute,lyre and the stringed instruments and cymbals to praise the Lord?