Method of Evangelism to Roman Catholics?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Moireach

Puritan Board Freshman
I am a student in university and am on the Christian Union committee and this is actually to do with which method to use in the university setting and not church.

My university has a large number of Roman Catholics. The aim of the Christian Union is to give every single student on campus the opportunity to hear and respond to the gospel. There are 17,000 people in my university. Very few of them have been reached in times past by the C.U because of liberal methods of evangelism, namely the 'bait method' of enticing unbelievers in to events using entertainment and throwing a 5 minute gospel talk in at the end. A method I despise.

So. I thought that one way to reach Roman Catholics with the gospel would be to advertise a Catholic or Protestant debate to be held in a big lecture theatre known by all. In Scotland of course this is a very topical issue and it has been for hundreds of years, and I'm confident a well run advertising campaign featuring banners and posters and all kinds of things receive much attention.

It would involve a Protestant minister, I know some who are well equipped for such a debate, and some RC representative, maybe a priest. The debate would run by topics being thrown out for short talks by each person successively. E.g, justification would be given to them and they could talk for 5 minutes each, then church tradition, then Mary, and so on. I would ensure the RC spoke first, giving the Christian the obvious advantage.

So my question here is, is it right to hold a debate which gives an RC the chance to put Roman Catholic views across?

Here are my thoughts: