Mosaic in the CoG

Status
Not open for further replies.

Grant

Puritan Board Graduate
Can you link me to any articles that help explain the Mosaic being in the Covenant of Grace? I am new to CT and often times my mind tries to “relapse” back to my typical SBC days. FYI... I do not believe the mosaic is a republication of the CoW. Just looking for a refresher.

P.S. Particularly when I read the book of Hebrews (Old vs. New)... this relapse occurs. It seems in Hebrews, the context defines Old as the mosaic.

Last edited:
Strictly speaking, the Old Covenant is the Siniatic, per Jer.31:31-32.

The OPC GA report on Republication (http://opc.org/GA/republication.html) contains as a necessary byproduct defense of the Siniatic covenant being essentially an administration of the Covenant of Grace. From the conclusion:
Administrative republication is consistent with our standards in that it coherently maintains that the Mosaic covenant is in substance a covenant of grace. Examples of administrative republication include declarative, material, and misinterpretive republications, as well as an indirect, redemptive reenactment of Adam’s sin and exile (as described in our report).

Views of substantial republication which are theologically inconsistent with our standards include: pure and simple republications, subservient republications, mixed republications, and a direct, non-redemptive reenactment of Adam’s pre-fall covenantal probation.

Furthermore, our standards affirm that the merit of Christ, the God-man and mediator, consists in his perfect, personal, proportional, profitable, and free obedience. Christ offers his covenant-obedience and sufferings as the representative head of the elect. He thereby fulfills the requirements and removes the penalty of the original covenant of works. Precisely because fallen man cannot fulfill these conditions, he is unable (properly speaking) to merit a reward from God of any kind.