My View of the Limited Atonement (Controversial)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Christian Teegardin

Puritan Board Freshman
(The text in italics is from an article I'll give a reference to at the end of the post.)

Warning: This post contains (a) controversial viewpoint(s).

This post might seem a bit amateurish. I am no professional theologian.

I was researching Scriptural support for the limited atonement and there seems to be a disproportionate amount of verses in support of the unlimited atonement. At first, this disturbed me, since I definitely do not want to go against the views of the PuritanBoard, yet my conscience goes against the limited atonement entirely.

Of course, the limited atonement is a very logical position to hold. With that viewpoint, the five points of Calvinism become a logical framework to interpret Scripture with.

The limited atonement is easily deduced from the other four points of Calvinism. Since humanity is totally depraved because of original sin, cast upon us by the fall of Adam, we cannot save ourselves by any good work. Since we cannot save ourselves in any way, yet some are indeed saved, God's election is therefore unconditional. Also, since we cannot save ourselves in any way, God's grace has to be a revolutionary agent that changes the very will of the elect. (Irresistible grace.) Since God's grace changes the will of the elect, the elect therefore persevere in the faith. Finally, since Christ died for our sins, His atonement must be particular, because if His atonement was not particular, then all would be saved, for all the sins of the world would've been atoned for.

There is one problem with the previous argument. If the reader hasn't noticed, the argument was based on logic, not Scripture. Didn't God say that man's wisdom is foolish to Him?