Need opinions on reaching children/teens

Status
Not open for further replies.

ReformedWretch

Puritan Board Doctor
Ok, I have been in the very early planning stages of creating a "Christian system" for residential childcare. As most/many of you know I was a professional childcare worker (House Parent) for fifteen years and LOVED it, but saw many flaws and a blatant anti-biblical at worst, or a terribly weak theology based at best system behind the attempts to "help" children in need.

Without getting into all of it, or the entire story as to "why" I am pursuing this I need to run by you all here my general intake/interview ideas. This is the process used by nearly all childcare places that accept needy children/teens. I feel a true "Christian" one, run by the local Church, should be based on these ideas. Let me know what you think.

A child that is brought to one of our homes (my prayer is that I could start MANY of these in Churches all over the Country) would be told just what a Christian is, what the expectations of a Christian home (family) are. The would be required to do/follow things such as attending Church Sunday morning, evening and mid week, daily prayer and devotions, Christian counseling in regard to their issues/problems, and the rules of the home would be decided upon by the Christian parents of that home and must be followed (these would be reviewed by the administration before being put in place but the child need not know that). Parents of the children placed in care would be required to go to Christian family services (counseling) chosen by our facility, and would have to meet for prayer and devotions with the staff and children before ANY visits at the home, or taking their child out for visits. They would be required to do this again before leaving the home or after dropping their child off at the home. If the parent could not make it to the home, these sessions would happen over speaker phone or web cam.