New to CT - Help with Noahic Covenant?

Status
Not open for further replies.

TaylorOtwell

Puritan Board Junior
I'm relatively to new to the concept of Covenant Theology. Actually, I am new to most of all aspects of theology, as the Lord brought me to faith and repentance two years ago.

I am reading through O. Palmer Robertson's Christ of the Covenants, and I just finished the section on the Noahic covenant. I am having trouble understanding how this covenant functions in relation to the bigger picture of redemption. I would appreciate it if someone could explain the function of this covenant in fairly simple terms.

I guess I'm having trouble seeing how this covenant expands on the covenant made in the Garden that the Messiah would crush the head of the serpent. If the Lord had already made that promise, I'm thinking it would be assumed that the Lord would preserve mankind until this promise is fulfilled.

So, can someone help understand the significance of the Noahic covenant? :)

Taylor,

I appreciate your struggles with Covenant Theology. I have only within the last few years left dispensationalism behind, and affectionately embraced this wonderful understanding of Scripture that we call Covenant Theology.