Not open for further replies.

C. Matthew McMahon

Christian Preacher
The Doctrine of Man’s Future Eternity by John Jackson (1600-1648)

John Jackson (1600-1648) was a Westminster Puritan divine with a hearty theological intellect, and tender pastoral understanding.

In this work, Jackson lays down biblically the doctrine of eternity, and the importance of man’s never dying soul that hangs in its balance. This being a fundamental point of Christian divinity, it should be “plainly proved, clearly explained, and powerfully applied to us.”

He explains what eternity is in the final four basic tenants of Christian doctrine, death, judgment, heaven and hell.

He then proves by Scripture the many infallible proofs that all mankind, at the end of this world, shall go in their bodies and souls into an everlasting condition, either of happiness or misery. Then he describes the misery of that everlasting condition of woe and punishment that the wicked shall go into at the end of the world. Afterward, he explains the happiness of the eternal state of glory and rest that the righteous shall go into at the last day; a most excellent and comforting exhortation.

Following this, he takes a chapter to explain the principal reasons why all mankind after the day of judgment shall go in their bodies and souls into an everlasting condition, either of happiness or misery. Not only that it “will” happen, but the all important “why” it will happen.

In the last chapter he directs the reader how to apply the great doctrine of man’s future eternity, in order to escape everlasting punishment, and obtain eternal life only in Jesus Christ, after this life is ended.

This is a blessed treatise, deep in its power and application; a God-glorifying and Christ exalting work by this eminent divine.

Get the eBook Pack on Sale at Puritan Publications here.
Get the Printed Book at my spotlight page here.
Get the Amazon versions here.
Get the Google Play version here.

Table of Contents
Jackson Weighs Eternity in the Balance by C. Matthew McMahon
Meet John Jackson by C. Matthew McMahon
Chapter 1: Six Principles
Chapter 2: Happiness or Misery
Chapter 3: Misery of the Wicked
Chapter 4: Glory for the Righteous
Chapter 5: Bodies and Souls
Chapter 6: Application of the Doctrine

Not open for further replies.