Now what? Newly unequally yoked?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Devoted

Puritan Board Freshman
I've been staunchly paedo-baptist for 25 years. I grew up in credo churches, but when I was 15 and after my mother married a Reformed guy who introduced the paedo view to me, I studied it (even did a paper on it for 10th grade) and came to my current convictions. I met and married my husband in the OPC when I was 19. Fast forward 21 years and after having to leave our OPC congregation and attending a couple different credo-churches over the last couple years.... my husband told me last night that he thinks he's changing his mind on it.

All our kids have been baptized as infants. None of them had made a public profession of faith before leaving the OPC. So there would be some major implications for our parenting moving forward if he's now credo- and I'm still paedo-. I'm finding it hard not to be distressed over this. It's not my husband's convictions in general that bothers me but being disunited and wondering how on earth we teach our children from wildly differing understandings.

Be a good wife and don't nag or argue with him. Marriage in the West is in trouble; having a good husband who is a baptist is not a huge crisis. Don't make it one.

You’re a baptist.
As we all should be.

But if I were a woman (and thank God I am not) I would follow my husband on secondary issues for the sake of peace and unity in the home. If a marriage is basically good and unified why make this an issue when most marriages in America either fail or are unhappy. Why search for reasons to be unhappy? Keep the peace and focus on the family.