PRCA's Covenant and Trinity: Simply Trinity or Social Trinity?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Wyres

Puritan Board Freshman
Hello there, I am new to the Puritan Board, and hope y'all bear with me.

I am reading the book Simply Trinity - The Unmanipulated Father, Son, and Spirit by Matthew Barrett. It is a very engaging book. Even though I have yet to finish reading, I picked up something from his book about Social Trinity. I could not help but to relate it to the PRCA's system of their definition of Covenant and the way they view the Trinity. It seems to me, the PRCA's covenant and trinitarian views is somewhat quasi-Social Trinity, or perhaps even a variant of Social Trinity. I heard that David Engelsma tried to differentiate their views from the Social Trinity. However I am not very convinced but I can't put my finger to it. Can someone help me out on this? Thank you.

Hello there, I am new to the Puritan Board, and hope y'all bear with me.

I am reading the book Simply Trinity - The Unmanipulated Father, Son, and Spirit by Matthew Barrett. It is a very engaging book. Even though I have yet to finish reading, I picked up something from his book about Social Trinity. I could not help but to relate it to the PRCA's system of their definition of Covenant and the way they view the Trinity. It seems to me, the PRCA's covenant and trinitarian views is somewhat quasi-Social Trinity, or perhaps even a variant of Social Trinity. I heard that David Engelsma tried to differentiate their views from the Social Trinity. However I am not very convinced but I can't put my finger to it. Can someone help me out on this? Thank you.

There are some similarities but I don't think they are the same. Social Trinitarians define person as a center of self-consciousness and see the Trinity as something like three individual beings in the Godhead. The PRC guys don't do that.