Preaching today

Status
Not open for further replies.

jambo

Puritan Board Senior
I was preaching this morning. Normally I love my breakfast but on mornings I am preaching I do not enjoy breakfast as its hard to eat due to the nerves in the stomach. It would be easier to do without breakfast on such a day as this but as a diabetic I really need to eat.

When I arrive at at church I watch those arriving all relaxed and almost envy them not having to get up before people and speak. If I have to write anything down prior to the service my hand shakes that I can hardly make out my own writing. As the person leads and my time to get up and preach gets closer my heart begins to beat faster. "Just after this hymn I have to get into the pulpit..."

What gets me is that I have been preaching for 25 years and I am as nervous today as I was all these years ago.

I recall reading about one Hugh McAil, one the Covenanters, who as he climbed the steps to the gallows said he found it easier to climb the steps to the gallows than the steps to his own pulpit.

I would be interested to know from others who have been preaching for a number of years if nerves still affect them.

Sure glad to know that some teachers realize the awful responsibilities that they are under. Thanks for taking your duty so seriously.

Stuart, I feel pressure (nervousness) in my preparation. I am never - never satisfied with the content of my sermon. I pour over my sermon notes and edit until it is time to head to church. I am conscious of the great responsibility that accompanies proclaiming the Word of God. James' warning, "Let not many of you become teachers" echoes in my brain. Once I get to church I am fine. I've done all I can do and I pray that our Sovereign God uses His Word, even though proclaimed by such an unworthy vessel, for His purpose.