Presuppositional Apologetics explanation and example

Status
Not open for further replies.

Claudiu

Puritan Board Junior
I am still fairly new to this so I was interested in finding a clear explanation of exactly what Presuppositional Apologetics (Van Tillian more specifically) is and an example of it being used.

-----Added 12/2/2009 at 02:32:02 EST-----

Also, any suggestions on books/articles that you found helpful on this subject?

Google up Greg Bahnsen on YouTube. There are several videos you can watch where he explains the presuppositional approach. Also check out Greg Koukl on YouTube. He uses a presuppositional approach in apologetics.

Careful with Koukl. He is not a true presuppositionalist (he told me as much in person). He does some good stuff but Bahnsen and James White are better examples of presuppositional apologists.

Read Bahnsen's Van Til's Apologetic for a good articulation of Van Til's approach. Van Til himself is quite scatter brained at times and a little tough to pick up and just read (I know from experience). Nevertheless, I would recommend reading his Defense of the Faith particularly the newest addition (4th I believe) with Dr. Scott Oliphint's annotations. Read Van Til and Bahnsen before you read Frame, in order to understand some of Frames objections/critiques. Dr. James Anderson's website has some great articles about Van Til, www.vantil.info.

Read Bahnsen's Van Til's Apologetic for a good articulation of Van Til's approach. Van Til himself is quite scatter brained at times and a little tough to pick up and just read (I know from experience). Nevertheless, I would recommend reading his Defense of the Faith particularly the newest addition (4th I believe) with Dr. Scott Oliphint's annotations. Read Van Til and Bahnsen before you read Frame, in order to understand some of Frames objections/critiques. Dr. James Anderson's website has some great articles about Van Til, www.vantil.info.