Private and Public Exhorters

Status
Not open for further replies.

Adam Olive

Puritan Board Freshman
i am reading the Calvinistic Methodist Fathers of Wales and it keeps referring to private and public exhorters. Does anyone know what is meant by these terms?

It may be a time thing. How are you referencing the offices? Early it was usually ordained men with Study. I read a lot on the early period but have no idea what that means today or what the requirements were then. I did that because I studied the Wesley's and the Whitfield.

Public exhorters were typically full time and spoke to larger groups of people; private exhorters had other jobs but led and encouraged smaller, more localized groups. George Whitefield briefly discusses the difference in a letter quoted in Dallimore's biography, p. 128-129. You can find it online in Google books. Later, the distinction functioned somewhat like "pastor" (public exhorter) and "elder" (whose duties included teaching and exhorting individuals privately)

The two volumes mentioned I would highly recommend, and when I feel my soul being dried by too much theological disputation, I resort to them to have my heart strangely warmed within me. As I understand it, the question is to be answered in the Welsh context of those volumes.