Puritan Reformed Certificate?

Status
Not open for further replies.

arapahoepark

Puritan Board Professor
Does anyone have experience with a certificate via from Puritan Preformed Seminary? I am entertaining the idea of getting one in church history. If not, for those of you who went what would you say about the church history courses?

Is it for your own edification or towards a degree course? As a PRTS student I feel that church history can be learnt by good books, Ligonier series etc.

Does anyone have experience with a certificate via from Puritan Preformed Seminary? I am entertaining the idea of getting one in church history. If not, for those of you who went what would you say about the church history courses?

As one who got an HT degree at WSCal, I agree with John. Unless it is for a very specific job, I highly recommend you do the reading at home instead. I heard about 500 people (including known pastors/theologians) applied for one HT position at WSCal, so the competition is very tough.

I have HT degrees from mainline schools, but I want to give a slightly different take. :)

You can learn a lot in HT from individual reading. I certainly have. Still, it generally helps to have other people with whom you can discuss what you read, because discussing elements of a text can really increase what you get out if it. To the extent that a formal course gives you more opportunities for discussion, that is an advantage to taking courses.