Quantifying the Seminary Workload

Status
Not open for further replies.

Grafted In

Puritan Board Freshman
Brothers,

I will begin working on my MDiv in a few weeks and I want to begin to make some realistic scheduling decisions. I was hoping that those of you who have gone to seminary could estimate how many hours per week you spent on your studies. Please include in this number the time spent in class, reading, writing, studying, etc. I am sure that some weeks were heavier than others, but I am just looking for some realistic estimates.

Thank you in advance!

I am in my 3rd year at seminary, but I don't know how much advice I could give regarding this. I am not the most organized person! Basically, a rule given to me was for every credit hour you will need to do a total of 3 hours. So 15 credit hours will be 45 hours per week. However, some weeks will require less. Other weeks when a big assignment is due will have you burning the midnight oil.
I tend to treat it as a 8.30-5 job, with Friday afternoon off. But I usually work at home some evenings as well.
Try and get ahead in the opening weeks of semester. If you have the books- get reading. If you are doing a language get writing out those vocab words on your little cards even though you have barely a clue how to write the word. Also get a diary or calendar and at beginning of semester start marking out when assignments are due so you can look ahead.
You have a family- you must, must, must make plenty time for them. It probably won't be easy to study at home, so get as much done during the day in the library as possible. You also have church and ministry opportunities and it is easy to neglect them. You may have to curtail them, but don't neglect to minister to others or to be fed yourself. You may also have work commitments that you will need to schedule yourself around also.
Sounds impossible, right? Enjoy the ride, soak in the environment and receive with joy all that God is teaching you.