Question Regarding Upcoming Pulpit Search Committee Interview

Status
Not open for further replies.

Brother John

Puritan Board Sophomore
Hello all! I am in my final year of seminary and Lord willing entering into a pastoral call in Spring/Summer 2015. I began to prayerfully pursue a call a couple of months ago at the end of summer. I have been calling and emailing friends, acquaintances and strangers recommended to me. Most contacts are PCA TE/RE elders in the south east.

My question is in regards to an upcoming phone interview with a pulpit search committee. I've met with the pastor who contacted me about this associate pastor position as well as an informal preliminary phone interview with the committee vice chairman. This is the first church that I have gone this far in the process with, so this will be my first committee wide interview.

What should I expect? Do you have any counsel to offer? Thank you in advance for your replies!

P.S. If you know of any PCA pastoral opportunities in the south east I would appreciate you sharing them with me!

Over a 100 views and 0 posts...

The counsel I have received from a few pastors is that there is no answer to my question. They have each confirmed that every committee is different and there is no set process.

Has this been yalls experience?

It's a job interview. No two are alike.

Familiarize yourself with the church. Be prepared to ask good questions. Know your strengths and how to communicate them. Be forthright and let them see what you're passionate about. That way, if the fit is good they will see that it is good, and if the fit is bad everyone will see that, too. You want to end up where the fit is good. Then pray, lots, and relax and let God do his work.

Hello John,