Questions for understanding Limited Atonement

Status
Not open for further replies.

ijunn

Puritan Board Freshman
Since I am new to the reformed faith, and the church I go to subscribes to the Three Forms of Unity, I can't help but notice that the Three Forms of Unity do not mention limited atonement in the same fashion as todays calvinistic teachings do.

Example: The Canons of Dordt - The second head of doctrine of the death of Christ and the redemption of men thereby - articles 3, 4, 5 and 6.

Article 3. The death of the Son of God is the only and most perfect sacrifice and satisfaction for sin, and is of infinite worth and value, abundantly sufficient to expiate the sins of the whole world.

Article 4. This death derives its infinite value and dignity from these considerations, because the person who submitted to it was not only really man and perfectly holy, but also the only begotten Son of God, of the same eternal and infinite essence with the Father and the Holy Spirit, which qualifications were necessary to constitute Him a Savior for us; and because it was attended with a sense of the wrath and curse of God due to us for sin.

Article 5. Moreover, the promise of the gospel is that whosoever believeth in Christ crucified shall not perish, but have everlasting life. This promise, together with the command to repent and believe, ought to be declared and published to all nations, and to all persons promiscuously and without distinction, to whom God out of His good pleasure sends the gospel.

Article 6. And whereas many who are called by the gospel do not repent, nor believe in Christ, but perish in unbelief, this is not owing to any defect or insufficiency in the sacrifice offered by Christ upon the cross, but is wholly to be imputed to themselves.