Recommended Doctoral Programs? Systematics or Apologetics

Status
Not open for further replies.

sgemmen9

Puritan Board Freshman
Hello everyone,

I am looking to apply to strong doctoral programs focusing in Systematics or Apologetics.

I have a Masters of Divinity and almost a Th.M in systematics at Calvin Seminary. I am hoping to find a program focusing on Apologetics, but a systematics program would be alright too if I don't get in to an apologetics program. I am Reformed Calvinist and I am currently a member of the CRC, though I was OPC for a number of years. I am currently looking at applying to Westminster Seminary, PA, Wycliffe College, Toronto CA, and Fuller. Money is a factor, though I am willing to move virtually anywhere and drag out the program if I have to pay more money out of pocket. Any other suggestions for good schools?

Hi Shelby,

What do you hope to gain from doctoral work, and how do you hope to use it (ie, pastor, teach, etc.)?

I hope to end up doing pastoral work, and maybe one day teaching at either a Bible College or a Seminary. I also hope to do some writing and non-profit work. As a side note, I was hoping to find some place that is ATS accredited, which I think rules out places like Whitefield; if I'm not mistaken.

I hope to end up doing pastoral work, and maybe one day teaching at either a Bible College or a Seminary. I also hope to do some writing and non-profit work. As a side note, I was hoping to find some place that is ATS accredited, which I think rules out places like Whitefield; if I'm not mistaken.

Have you considered staying at Calvin? Not to hijack, but how is the ThM program there? I'm looking into ThM programs...

I suggest you ask your professors. If you trust them enough to educate you thus far, I'd give their opinion more weight than those of PBers.

I suggest you ask your professors. If you trust them enough to educate you thus far, I'd give their opinion more weight than those of PBers.