reformed baptist church's attitude towards women

Status
Not open for further replies.

a

Puritan Board Freshman
as some of you may know, i am quite new to this whole reformed theology thing... growing up in SBC, there are many questions i have regarding reformed churches and stuff...

this question concerns a reformed baptist church in texarkana, ar and its attitude towards women...

i was discussing with my mother today that i was looking for a church home in the dallas area, and that many of you were suggesting places to try out... she asked if these churches were calvinist, and i told her yes - reformed baptist churches and presbyterian churches...

i could tell there was a sudden concern in her voice after i told her this... this has been a sensitive subject for my mother and i (me making some sort of change in my beliefs)... i'm sure you can understand her concerns, as do i - so i'm just always careful to reassure her that i am testing everything with scripture...

so anyway, her countenance changed when i mentioned reformed baptist churches... i asked her what was her concern with this... she told me she knew a man from the reformed baptist church in texarkana, and she wasn't at all impressed with him... she said he was basically degrading of women, and almost held them as slaves... she may have been exaggerating a little, but i'm not sure... she said he has since been divorced...

to sort of confirm this sort of attitude, i had a teacher at school who was a member of that same reformed baptist church, and she had told us that women do not speak at their church...

my mom and i both realize that every church instance is going to be different in belief and behavior, but it was nonetheless a concern of hers...