Reformed theology and justified war.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jash Comstock

Puritan Board Freshman
Being a soldier and veteran I have an invested interest in this subject, and it has been on my mind lately, so I thought I'd ask my fellow PB'ers.

What is the general consensus amongst reformed theologians concerning the idea of justified war?
What are the characteristics of a just war vs. an unjust war?
What historical figures have written on the subject of just and unjust war?

Any links, articles, books, or sermon recommendations would also be appreciated.

Others will have some theological references that will be helpful.

But, it is important to know what is implicit, that war can be just.
God nowhere in His Word prohibits war; rather, He commanded it many times. Even chastised Israel for not doing it, and to the full.

Being a soldier and veteran I have an invested interest in this subject, and it has been on my mind lately, so I thought I'd ask my fellow PB'ers.

What is the general consensus amongst reformed theologians concerning the idea of justified war?
What are the characteristics of a just war vs. an unjust war?
What historical figures have written on the subject of just and unjust war?

Any links, articles, books, or sermon recommendations would also be appreciated.

Most Reformed will defend some aspect of a just war ala Augustine. Indeed, the confession teaches this.

Chapter 23; Section II.–It is lawful for Christians to accept and execute the office of a magistrate when called thereunto; in the managing whereof, as they ought especially to maintain piety, justice, and peace, according to the wholesome laws of each commonwealth, so, for that end, they may lawfully, now under the New Testament, wage war upon just and necessary occasions.

Shaw comments,