Regulative Principle help

Status
Not open for further replies.

Edm

Puritan Board Sophomore
I am new to these terms so forgive me. I also am asking earnestly and am not being sarcastic.

I earlier today read a few threads dealing with this and of course went to google to understand. I am of the opinion that services belong to God. As patriotic as I am for example, I don't think veterans should stand and be recognized in the service. I see that that would fit the bill as Regulative Principle. However, what are the criteria? What about using projectors or other visuals? These were not prescribed by God. Reciting creeds? Again, this ( as a Principle ) is new to me. I'm not trying to be silly, just learn from a better resource than Wikipedia. Can someone help me here?

RPW briefly is positive command, approved example, and deduced by good and necessary consequence. There are elements and circumstances. Circumstances must be ordered by Christian prudence and the light of nature, according to the general rules of the Word.

The RPW states that we can only institute those elements in worship which God has explicitly laid down in Scripture. There is an important distinction, which is pertinent to some of the questions you asked, between elements and circumstances of worship: elements have to do with that which is directly concerned with the worship of God (Word and prayer), while circumstances are, well, circumstances (e.g., where you worship, when you worship, whether you use pews or not, etc.).

As to projectors, I guess it depends. I'd in almost every instance say no. The emphasis in the service is on the preached word. Visuals only serve to distract the hearer from God coming down and speaking to us through the preacher. The only God appointed visuals are Baptism and the Lord's Supper. Let us be content with these pictures, by which God signifies and seals his grace to us in Christ.