Replacement Theology?

Status
Not open for further replies.

The Author of my Faith

Puritan Board Freshman
I am confused. I am still pretty new to Reformed Theology. From what I have been reading, two books by O Palmer Roberson (Isreal of God and Christ and the Covenants). I am seeing that God does not have a "special" plan for National Israel and that all the promises he made regarding the lad have been fulfilled. The true Israel of God are those who are IN Christ. The true children of Abraham are those who are of the Promise (elect). Is this correct? Please correct me if I am wrong.

Is this Replacement Theology? Can someone who KNOWS what they are talking about (no offense to anyone) please explain to me in layman terms. And what books can I read to find out more about this issues.

Thanks!

Some Reformed people like O.Palmer Robertson, believe that Romans 11 just teaches that there will always be a small number of true believers among the Jews.

Others like Errol Hulse, Johnnie Murray, Robert Dabney, Charles Hodge and John Calvin, believed that Romans 11 taught the above and that there would be a national conversion of the Jews.

People like O.Palmer Robertson tend to be but not always are amils.
People like John Murray et al. tend to be but not always are postmils.

There's a look at Palmer Robertson's exegesis of Romans 11 here:-

http://www.puritanboard.com/f45/o-palmer-robertson-romans-11-a-51401/

There's an honest disagreement among the Reformed here, which is better than the Byzantine maze of Dispensational eschatology which is partly based on interpreting more straightforward passages by more difficult passages.

Lorraine Boettner's "The Millennium" is a survey of the field, although no doubt there are more up-to-date Reformed surveys available than that.

The short answer to your question is no, it's not replacement theology. I prefer to call it "fulfillment theology" because Christ has fulfilled and expanded the people of God to include Gentiles.