Request for prayer - not sure if it's the right place to post

Status
Not open for further replies.

manito2000

Puritan Board Freshman
I am a 28 year old pastor of a congregation in East Palo Alto. 50% of the attendees are primarily Spanish speakers while the remaining 50% are bilingual. I have been facing major struggles. I am not seminary trained but have worked hard to diligently search the scriptures to understand what God meant to say to his church in regards to faith and practice. It has been very difficult.

Our congregation belongs to a Pentecostal denomination of various levels of actual charismatic practice. I grew up in this congregation and have been attending since I was 12 years old.

Currently our struggle has been 3-fold:

1. We have no musicians. The previous musicians left the congregation due to various reasons. Therefore, I have attempted during this time to purchase backing tracks, find instrumental hymn accompaniment, etc…so that our services were not without some form of musical accompaniment. Some members of the congregation have complained greatly about them not “feeling” the spirit specially during those “boring old-fashioned hymns.” Believe me we’ve made an extra effort to include old hymns, modern sound praise choruses, etc…so that there is variety and that we do not start a worship war in the congregation. But still…people were used to 1 hour of singing, dancing, etc…without end.

2. We have been diligently preaching expository messages through 1 John, Joshua, and now the 7 letters to the churches in Asia Minor. However, there are several in the congregation who insist that we are not following the “spirit’s” leading and therefore lack unction to courage to preach on tongues, faith, miracles, etc…

3. We have been doing our best to visit folks in the congregation while holding a full time day job (since many discontent people have decided to abstain from offerings and tithing).