Review of Burgon's Revision Revised

Status
Not open for further replies.
It may well be that he took a stand on what the WCF and its framers actually stated, the alternative to which is the confusion and wrangling we find now in our land and churches, and even in this thread.
Steve, I wll make a few comments on my own accord although will not make lengthy comments in the future. I will leave it to the more gifted here.

I used to believe that the Received Text was the most reliable text. I used to be a New Zealand agent for the Trinitarian Bible Society. One of that Societies Directors examined me to ensure I had solid convictions re the Received Text!

But I have changed my position. I believe the WCF statement "kept pure in all ages" needs to reflect mss discoveries of the past 80-100 years.

Let me give an example. Rev 16:5 has been changed by Beza's conjectural emendation. The Received text of Erasmus 1522 and Stephanus 1555 have the correct reading. The Coverdale translation of 1538 "Holy One" has the correct translation. Yet the KJV has been changed by Beza's conjectural emendation! The WCF was written after this KJV change. The KJV has not been "kept pure". Further, in the KJV, the translations with footnotes make comments that Luke 10:22, Luke 17:36, and Acts 25:6 have some textual uncertainty. These footnotes in the KJV suggest textual variation was a issue even in the time of the Reformation. In fact the footnotes suggest the "text was not kept pure in all ages"!

I suggest the WCF would be best revised to consider the papyri discovered in the last 80-100 years. Scholars in the 15 and 16th centuries used the term "ad fontes" - to the sources. This means going back to the original documents as a standard of truth rather than relying on a preconceived theory.