Scriptural basis for paedo baptism

Status
Not open for further replies.

SolaSaint

Puritan Board Sophomore
Hi All,

I'm new to reformed theology and have been coming to the PB for help in understanding it for a couple of months now. One of the hardest things for me to get my head around is paedo baptism. Where in scripture are we commanded or even get an inference to baptize infants? I don't believe there is a scriptural basis for this practice and this confounds me because I've always looked to the reformers as holding strong to sola scriptura.

You will get better answers if we put your thread in the 'Paedo Baptism Answers' Forum. Did you mean to put you question to Credo-Baptists only?

Well now I'm very confused. I just responded in a thread on the paedo baptism forum a similar question and was told I can't do this. So this is why I placed this post here.

I don't understand what happened. You are allowed to start a thread that only paedo's can answer and have you respond if you started the thread in a paedo only discussion forum. Only paedo's are allowed to answer in that forum though. A credo can start a thread if he wants to get answers from paedo's only. That is suppose to be how it works. If you post a question in the Credo forum then only Credo's are only allowed to respond. Sometimes the rules get crossed a bit because a person wasn't paying attention to which part of the forum they were reading.

If you want to ask a question and allow both paedo and credo to participate then you just post it in the regular baptism area.

Can I answer any questions specifically that you might have? Covenant theology or something of the sort in relation to what you want to know?

I have quite a few blog posts in my blog that might help you out.

Here is one on Covenant Children and how that is defined by the credo postion.

Covenant Head and Covenant Children - The PuritanBoard