Seminary Admissions

Status
Not open for further replies.

volnation27

Puritan Board Freshman
I feel I have been lead into vocational ministry though I'm still discerning the call. I am a junior in college and looking to finish my degree online before going, hopefully, to SBTS. I have two questions about the admissions process:

1. I'm wanting to finish my 4-year degree on Liberty online in accounting. It is regionally accredited and seems to be my best option. How would SBTS view this degree? Would it decreased my chances of being accepted because it's an online university or that I'm not a Biblical studies major?

2. How selective is SBTS or seminaries in general? How much weight is put on GPA vs. personal references and personal essay?

God bless!

I worked as an admissions counselor for both undergrad and graduate studies (though not at SBTS). This should not handicap you in any way concerning being admitted. If it does I would be surprised.

It never hurts to talk to someone at the school you are applying to.

Sorry I didn't see number two!

The personal essay and references are of the utmost importance especially for Christian graduate programs.

The GPA is very important as well. However, unless the GPA is exceptionally low, most schools can work with you on that.
This can change depending upon the size and exclusivity of the school.

Great answers, all. Thanks!

The personal essay and references are of the utmost importance especially for Christian graduate programs.

The GPA is very important as well. However, unless the GPA is exceptionally low, most schools can work with you on that.

If you don't mind me asking, how poor do the essay and references have to be to not get accepted? I know it varies from seminary to seminary, but in general how good do my references and essay have to be?

Great answers, all. Thanks!