Seminary Advice - MAR vs MDiv for ordination

Status
Not open for further replies.

Andres

Puritan Board Doctor
I would like some counsel and opinions on some future decisions my wife and I are faced with. This is specifically in regards to future education. I believe that I am called to the ministry. My pastor and elders have confirmed this. I am currently in the process of coming under care with our presbytery. I am not clear though on what I should do for my future education. I have a bachelors degree and am now looking at seminaries. I have applied and been accepted to Redeemer Seminary in Dallas. This is the closest seminary that I would consider attending. It is approx 3 hours away from where I currently live, so my wife and I would obviously have to move. My wife is finishing up her masters degree and will graduate this May so the earliest we would move is summer 2011 and I would begin classes that summer/fall.

Now I am second guessing myself on if that is the best route. I am wondering if we should not move and instead stay here for a few more years. Here are some reasons why: My wife and I want to begin a family. We are praying and hoping to get pregnant as soon as possible. We have a lot of student loan debt. I mean a lot. My wife’s is currently deferred since she’s in school, but when she graduates we will have to begin making payments. We own a home here and I have a good job. Financially it would be a lot easier living here than moving to Dallas, but the biggest reason that I am considering us staying here for a while is because my pastor recently approached me about prayerfully considering becoming an elder at our church. This is a tremendous honor for me and I would very much like to do it. Obviously if we are moving in a less than a year, then I don’t think I should. However, if we stay then I will get to fulfill my calling in ministry and I say this as humbly as possible, but I hope I would be a blessing to my church.