Should Church Musicians Be Paid?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Should congregants who sing get paid?

Then why should the people that "accompany" them?

Well, they need to buy new strings for their guitars, right? And pianists need the copywrited editions of the pieces that are required for various needs, such as prayer services, processionals, recessionals, offertories, weddings, etc.

As a job? That depends on the services required of them. It can be a full time job, but mostly it isn't.

As a church musician, I say no. A worker is worthy of his wages, but a church musician is not a worker in that sense. Only the minister of the gospel need be paid.

In Christ,

KC

if the music of the church requires 40 hours a week for preparation (which translates to the musicians giving(ministry) full time effort, then they should be paid a salary commensurate with their experience and general cost of living.

If this cannot be done, then the church should scale back their musical operations in a manner suitable for the musicians to have a full time vocation whilst performing their musical functions on a part time basis.

but then again one has to ask themselves is it really necessary for a church to be extensive in music? A couple of instruments and 2-3 singers could suffice. In the Old Testament, it was all the descendents of Gershom, hence those guys back then had a full congregation, and were paid fully for their services since it was full time.

But today in our world I haven't seen a legitimate opportunity that justifies the usage of such grand musical designs, but heck, that would only mean hearing Handel's Messiah performed by the secularists.