Should I study German?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Hamalas

whippersnapper
Let me give some background before I ask my question. I'm currently a sophomore at Patrick Henry College studying as a history major. Every history major has to take two years of a classical language, which in my case happens to be Latin. I'm finishing up my first semester of Latin now but am going to be taking the next year or so off from school so that I can work and actually have money to give the school. :) During that time I've toyed with the idea of taking German (or maybe even French) at a local community college. It wouldn't count towards my language credits here at PHC but my thought is that it might help me simply because I'd be studying a language (even if it wasn't Latin.) So here's my question: would studying German help me in my Latin studies next year? Regardless I'll still be keeping up on my Latin on the side. Also, for those of you who have some experience with German, would you recommend it as a good language to study? Is it difficult, and if so, why? Any comments you may have would be most appreciated!

If you plan on doing theological work of the modern period, German would be helpful. Frankly, if you have a Reformation orientation, Latin will take you further. However, if you are thinking of adding to your Latin a "spoken" language, German would be ideal. Do you plan on learning Greek at some point?

German is an inflected language with lots of long convoluted (from an English perspective) sentences. All of those separable prefix verbs with the main part at the end of the sentence! But, just think of all the Karl Barth you could read in the orginal! :eek:

Bottom line: Deutsch ist ein artig Programmiersprache zu erfahren.

The problem with German is that just about any German you meet is likely to speak English. Any reasons against Spanish? Learning Spanish will indeed help you with Latin, and it's crazy useful as well.