Silence of Contemporaries & Jesus' Popularity

Status
Not open for further replies.

amishrockstar

Puritan Board Freshman
The bible is clear that massive crowds came to hear Jesus speak. Once a man had to be lowered through the roof to get to him because so many people were around. At least once Jesus had to cast off in a boat to preach to the masses. So what is your best apologetic as to why there's silence on the part of his contemporaries? As far as I know, all non-biblical references to Christ are from people who were born after he was crucified.

I hadn't thought much about this until I came across sites such as this: A Silence That Screams - (No contemporary historical accounts for "Jesus) | The Rational Response Squad

Thoughts?

I am by no means an apologetics expert, but I skimmed the piece and was struck immediately by the thought that it shows the usefulness of presuppositional apologetics. Words like "moral" were used in describing defending arguments, and there was an appeal to standards of evidence, logic, and a quote from Socrates about "the good" closed the essay. The author obviously wants to make and defend truth claims against what he sees as falsehood. Upon what ground does he base this view of truth and morality? Upon what ground does he assume a rational world in which logic makes sense? Just my :2cents:

One glaring problem is his historical standard.

There are MANY historical events of the past for which we have ZERO contemporary accounts, that are nonetheless received as reliable accounts, being reported only by later historians.

There are other historical events that are recorded by only one source. Again, most historians do not discount these events as improbable, merely because only one source reported it.

Many of the above events were unique, unrepeatable, even extraordinary events. I don't have a list of them here, but perhaps a book on apologetics might contain some references.