Slow to speak: does it mean, not speak much?

Status
Not open for further replies.

cris

Puritan Board Freshman
Hello my friends and brothers,

I have a question regarding James 1:19, which is:

Know this, my beloved brothers: let every person be quick to hear, slow to speak, slow to anger

Does it mean, we are suppose to not talk so much?
How do you interpret this verse?

Because I know that are many Christians who talk more and they would object to this interpretation.
Or "just" that we are to consider carefully what we are gonna say?

Do you know a good study/sermon/book about speech?

Thank you so much
Cristian

Good question, Cristian.

I take "slow to speak" to mean that we must carefully consider what we say before we actually say it...so that our words will be kind, helpful, encouraging, truthful. A person who speaks quickly will often say things that they wish they had not. This is definitely the case for me - I am still learning.

Context always.

The immediate context, within this verse and the following one, is about speaking rashly in anger and being quick-tempered: "...for the anger of man does not produce the righteousness of God" (v. 20). Better to listen well, unselfishly, before lashing out at someone in angry criticism.

The larger context of this part of James is about not just our words but the word of God in us. We must hear God's word, which is received "with meekness" (v. 21), and do it. This is in contrast to the person who "does not bridle his tongue but deceives his heart" (v. 26). James agrees with Jesus that what a man says closely agrees with what's happening in his heart. A man in whom God's word has taken root is not arrogant and will not speak the first thing that occurs to him, but rather will consider his words carefully.