So I am trying to help an Atheist understand TAG...

Status
Not open for further replies.

Apologist4Him

Puritan Board Freshman
1.) First, I received a private message from an atheist at another messageboard, his message reads as follows:

"I have yet to draw any conclusions on this topic (in reference to TAG), so if your interested, i'll continue the thread with you. But you can't talk over my head, because i'll be honest, this topic is difficult for me...especially since I have no background at all in philosophy. (in fact, just between us, I didn't even finish high-school)

I'm intrigued by this topic and would like to learn more, so if you want to start anew, lets get on a 101 level.

If you were going to teach the basics of the TAG to someone like me, what questions would you ask first...or what principles would you first address? I do have somewhat of a grasp on the TAG, but for the sake of clarity, let's start from the bottom...and for the record, I don't want a debate, but rather a discussion.

If your concerned about going in circles with other posters, and would rather converse via PM, i'm willing to do that as well."

2.) My first response to him was the following:

Hi Ray,

Thank you for bringing that to my attention. I would be glad to try and help, to be your guide into at least understanding TAG better. Perhaps in the process I will also learn how to explain TAG better.

I suppose the first step would be to provide you with a list of resources. A list of people whom helped me to learn TAG. I learned TAG by listening and reading to: