Spanish Training

Status
Not open for further replies.

ZackF

Puritan Board Professor
Does anyone have experience with Rosetta Stone Spanish training? If not Rosetta Stone, any luck with anything? I am looking to improve (no other way to go anyway) my Spanish.

addendum: Latin American Spanish preferred.

Thanks,

I've had some experience with it, never was patient enough to finish it though. Other things got in the way. :)

Rosetta Stone is, In my humble opinion, one of the best ways to learn Spanish that I've tried. It's pretty effective if you keep up with it. The only drawback is the price.

Ruben is such a salesman. I have to agree that immersion is best, though. I don't have any experience with Rosetta Stone; I prefer cheap, self-chosen materials for working on Spanish. Like:
- check out your library's selection of Spanish grammar workbooks. Obviously you can't write in them, but I find it even more helpful (if a little slower) to write out the whole drill onto paper. It's also fun to make up your own exercises where you have to use the object of the grammar lesson in a sentence with at least one word you have to look up (and learn).
- sort of an immersion-at-home idea: if you get a Spanish channel on TV, watch the news or, if you dare, a soap opera. Turn on the subtitles if it's too fast.
- Read your favorite Reformed authors in Spanish.
- change settings on your computer, GPS, cell phone, whatever so that the text is in Spanish. You'll learn a few words that way.

As a Spanish speaker, I actually have to say that Rosetta Stone isn't that great. The vocabulary they teach you is generally good, but the grammar is pretty lousy. That being said, I've had a lot of friend who found it a really good tool for starting out and then they supplemented with grammar texts later.