Star events "happening"

Status
Not open for further replies.

chuckd

Puritan Board Junior
I love looking at photos taken from the Hubble. Beautiful, natural paintings in the sky.

Many of these photos depict stars exploding. This, for example, was taken from the Kepler showing a star exploding from 700 million light years away.

It got me thinking, how can we properly say this "happened." Considering this "occurred" 700 million years ago and we're just now witnessing it.

Chuck

I'm not a scientist or astronomer, but have a bit of an interest in astronomy. I work on the basis that the scientists have correctly calculated the speed of light, and that it appears therefore that the light did indeed leave the star all those years ago. However I also believe that their calculation of time depends on a more or less constant speed of light (I'm not sure any calculations could be made without assuming a constant).

I believe there are therefore two ways for us to understand this.

On the basis of a young earth theology, that the speed of light cannot have been constant, but at some time either has went through a massive acceleration and slowing process and/or the distance between earth and the star/s have massively changed.

I think it more likely is the latter and there may even be a text to support that position.ESV Isaiah 42:5 Thus says God, the LORD, who created the heavens and stretched them out, who spread out the earth and what comes from it, who gives breath to the people on it and spirit to those who walk in it:

From a six-day literal view,

"Then God made two great lights: the greater light to rule the day, and the lesser light to rule the night. He made the stars also. God set them (moon, sun, stars) in the firmament of the heavens to give light (light of the moon, sun, stars then and now upon the earth) on the earth, and to rule over the day and over the night, and to divide the light from the darkness."