The 10th commandment, contentment, and trying to better one's life

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pergamum

Ordinary Guy (TM)
Hello,

I am studying through the 10th commandment again (not coveting). I would love any quotes, links, sermons, commentaries, etc., on how to balance not coveting with how to strive to better one's lot in life and not being content with a less than satisfactory status quo.

For instance, we have many examples of complaints in the psalms:

How long, O Lord? Will you forget me forever?

How long will you hide your face from me?

How long must I take counsel in my soul

and have sorrow in my heart all the day?

How long shall my enemy be exalted over me? (Psalm 13:1-2, ESV)

I once read an account of slavery in the Old South. When a runaway was recaptured he was rebuked by the use of the 10th commandment (i.e., he was sinfully discontent with his lot in life and therefore, ran away from his master). Is this legitimate?

Also, I am looking for quotes on grumbling, complaining and murmuring against God.

This quote has always been impacting upon me, I am glad you are concerned with not coveting instead of apathetic or ignorant to it!

"A Roman Catholic priest startled us not very long ago by saying that for 25 years he had been sitting in the confessional, listening to the confessions of men and women. He said he heard (of) murders, rapes, adultery, and fornication. He met men and women who have broken every law of God and man with repetition. But never in 25 years had anyone ever confessed to be covetous. Covetousness! We wrap it up and call it ambition. We may call it business or something, but right down in the middle of those things is a rotten word called "covetousness." Paul called it idolatry!" ~ Leonard Ravenhill

The best that I've seen comes from the Shorter Catechism on the eighth and tenth commandments. You'll find the questions and answers very satisfying!

Westminster Shorter Catechism Project