The Circumcision of the Federal Head and Baptism

Status
Not open for further replies.

Devin

Puritan Board Sophomore
(Prescript: I am a rank amateur on the issue of baptism, and I'm not sure I'm representing both sides as best as I can. Therefore, please bear with me.)

Often, Paedobaptists will ask Credobaptists to account for the change in the recipients of the covenant sign in light of the long tradition of infants being circumcised and so such. In critiquing the view that circumcision and baptism correlate to one another, Credobaptists will then ask why Paedobaptists give the covenant sign to females since only boys were circumcised in the Old Testament. The typical response that I have heard from Paedobaptists is that the females DID receive the covenant sign through their federal head.

My question is: If the circumcision of the federal head can be applied to those uncircumcised, can the baptism of the federal head be applied to the unbaptized children?

I realize that this is probably not a very common question, but I couldn't let it go after thinking about it. I'd love to hear some thoughts from my Paedobaptist brethern on the issue. :book2:

My question is: If the circumcision of the federal head can be applied to those uncircumcised, can the baptism of the federal head be applied to the unbaptized children?

[respectfully] Mercy Maud, that IS a good question.

Wish I'd thought to ask it!
curtain.gif

There's a strong feeling of censure these days toward almost any "individual" aspect of salvation; thinking about it, doesn't the move from a form of covenant sign that was "representative" for half the population to an "individual" covenant sign, indicate that an individual's salvation is, well, individual?

Originally Posted by Gryphonette