The Mosaic Covenant as a temporal republication of the Covenant of Works in light of Deuteronomy 9

Status
Not open for further replies.

Me Died Blue

Puritan Board Post-Graduate
I'm still studying various presentations of the viewpoints on the Mosaic Covenant as a republication of the Covenant of Works. In light of the fact that that historic viewpoint held by various Reformed theologians throughout history is certainly not a Dispensational rendering of the Mosaic Covenant as a salvific republication, but rather a temporal one concerned with the people's blessings in the land, what would those who hold that view say about Deuteronomy 9:1-12?

Hear, O Israel: you are to cross over the Jordan today, to go in to dispossess nations greater and mightier than yourselves, cities great and fortified up to heaven, a people great and tall, the sons of the Anakim, whom you know, and of whom you have heard it said, 'Who can stand before the sons of Anak?' Know therefore today that he who goes over before you as a consuming fire is the Lord your God. He will destroy them and subdue them before you. So you shall drive them out and make them perish quickly, as the Lord has promised you.

Do not say in your heart, after the Lord your God has thrust them out before you, 'It is because of my righteousness that the Lord has brought me in to possess this land,' whereas it is because of the wickedness of these nations that the Lord is driving them out before you. Not because of your righteousness or the uprightness of your heart are you going in to possess their land, but because of the wickedness of these nations the Lord your God is driving them out from before you, and that he may confirm the word that the Lord swore to your fathers, to Abraham, to Isaac, and to Jacob.