The Sabbath - What Crosses The Line?

Status
Not open for further replies.

O'GodHowGreatThouArt

Puritan Board Sophomore
Good evening guys, and God bless you all on this Sabbath day.

While watching the Pro Bowl this evening, something came to mind that I'm a bit confused about. The Lord in Exodus 34:21 said that, "You shall work 6 days, but on the 7th day, you shall rest...". I would surmise that work would violate it, while dealing with basic essentials would not.

However, what would cross the line and violate this commandment? With myself being a college student, I do not believe Sundays should be days that I do any work unless I do not have a choice because of a lack of time. Is this in full application of Exodus 34:21? What about watching sport events? Also, what are some examples that you can think of that would be in violation?

Thank you, and God bless the rest of your evening.

While watching the Pro Bowl this evening, . . .

Sorry, but I had to laugh at your lead-in.

what would cross the line and violate this commandment?

Watching the Pro Bowl, for one. [I don't mean to be flippant with that answer; please forgive me if it sounds that way]

If you have a copy of the Westminster Confession of Faith and Catechisms, read in the Larger Catechism questions 115-121 and their answers.
If you don't have a copy, it can easily be found online at any number of sites.

Bryan,

Have you listened to the message from Robert Murray M'Cheyne that was posted today by two other PB members? You can read it HERE or listen to it HERE.

I believe the answers to your questions will be much easier to receive if you, like M'Cheyne states, love the Lord's Day.

No I haven't Bill. To be honest with you, I didn't know he even existed. I just looked into the message and found it to be of vital assistance in my inquiry. I thank you for giving me the links. There is one question still lingering though.