The Unbelievable World of Christian Fiction

Status
Not open for further replies.

Athaleyah

Puritan Board Sophomore
Normally I read nonfiction theological books with some regular fantasy novels mixed in. But recently I've been having trouble focusing on serious things and decided to try something relatively new to me: Christian fiction. It is a genre that I have had little experience with except for the Left Behind series, which I read at the time thinking that it just might happen soon. And a couple of Frank Peretti novels. None of which did I pick out myself, someone else gave them to me as "must reads."

Moderators: If this should be under book reviews, please move it. But I am wanting to generally discuss the genre of Christian fiction itself after giving a few examples.

I have read four series recently, courtesy of my church library. One series I read are historical fiction books (The Wakefield Dynasty by Morris) where everyone that matters in the story comes to faith in Christ (in fact, if I remember correctly, this seems to be the case in every single Christian fiction book I have read). Quite uncanny how through hundreds of years of English history, that every single male head of household and his wife in this fictional family come to faith in Christ. Not one disappointment. And if by chance the male head of household marries a bad non-Christian woman by being misled about her goodness... then she dies so he can marry the good Christian woman that she should have been paying attention to the in first place. I kept reading these until I finished the series, had some interesting interactions with prominent protestants in English history like Tyndale, Cromwell, and Bunyan and the history around the family was interesting. But the main story arc was really unbelievable.