The way we (I would say, shouldn't) talk

Status
Not open for further replies.

cris

Puritan Board Freshman
Hi my friends and brothers in Christ
I am having a tough time hearing around me (Christians) say things like "shoot", "dang", "darn (it)", "freaking (something)"
Since I am new to US (still) I have no idea what they really mean. According to "Urban dictionary" they are on the border with profanity (cursing)
And in this case, I would say Christians shouldn't say words like these
I wonder what you guys think about it.
What about "Oh my God/Gosh"? Do you hear it a lot among the Christians? (I'm not asking what you think about this one, since it's obviously wrong)
Thanks a lot
Cristian

It's interesting, because most people (including most Christians) wouldn't give this a second thought.

things like "shoot", "dang", "darn (it)", "freaking (something)...

Euphemisms for common English curses. Most people probably say the first three without thinking anything of it, and wouldn't consider it the same thing. But it basically is, you're right. I try to not use "freaking," as the word it's substituted for is too vulgar, obviously.

I think humans are prone to swearing. You stub your toe, you hit your head on something, you fall etc., sometimes we're just compelled to blurt something out. Using euphemisms help us feel like we're not swearing. We are.

What about "Oh my God/Gosh"? Do you hear it a lot among the Christians? (I'm not asking what you think about this one, since it's obviously wrong)

Obviously, as Christians, we know not to use His name in vain, so we don't say the first option. However, "Oh my Gosh" gets said regularly by the same Christians. Why? Because we don't realize that it's a euphemism, and that's a huge problem.