The Witch Craze

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pergamum

Ordinary Guy (TM)
I am studying the European witch-craze of the 16th and 17th centuries (I am sick.....reading a lot).

It appears that the witch-craze corresponded with the upheavals in Europe caused by the Reformation and the rise of the modern state as well as various weather and climate upheavals (the little ice age) that occurred during that time.

The main reason seemed to be the suspicion and social division that occurred during the time of the Reformation and places, like Germany, that were most divided during the Reformation were often impacted the worst by the witch-craze.

Does anyone have any info on the witch-craze or Puritan writings addressing the with-craze? There has to be something since a large number of women were killed during that time period.

Any primary sources? I remember reading of Luther calling the Anabaptists "sorcerers" and "authors of witchery" somewhere but cannot find it. Also, the Malleus Maleficarum (the Hammer of the Witches, a handbook on witches) was written by Catholic clergymen, and can be found online and is fascinating.

Some sources say that the Reformation heightened people's awareness of evil, seeming to blame the Reformation, but other sources seem to indicate that witchcraft trials were highest in places were folk religions prevailed (thus equating irreligion or animism as a contributing factor).

Cotton Mather in the American colonies later seemed to attribute much to witccraft as well.

So, I am gathering insights, quotes and sources to further my study.

http://www.amazon.com/Malleus-Maleficarum-linked-Contents-ebook/dp/B0055U9JIO/ref=pd_sim_kstore_1 p.s. here is a cheap kindle version of the Hammer of the Witches.