Theological Lexicon of OT/NT

Status
Not open for further replies.
I have these volumes in LOGOS. They are good in some ways, but certainly only supplemental to a more comprehensive lexicon like BAGD, or something like the TDNT. For example, TLNT only looks at about 600 words, albeit in considerable detail. Bottom line: I find that I rarely consult them.

:2cents:

certainly only supplemental to a more comprehensive lexicon like BAGD

I agree. I am still a young Greek student but I have spoken with several highly reputable men in the field (I am currently a student at BJU) and the BAGD is the hands down volumes of choice when it comes to lexicons. Once again, I am not a Hebrew scholar, but as far as the Hebrew is concerned, the Brown, Driver, Briggs and Gesenius lexicon is the unanimous consensus as far as I know.

Also, I looked at the CBD web page, and it is $54.99 to buy the special - or- $24.99 to purchase each set individually. Just a heads up.

I would say that both the OT lexicon and the NT lexicon are worth having, actually. I don't like depending on only one lexicon, however good BDAG is, and however good BDB is (and there, most OT scholars agree that HALOT is better now than BDB). If I could only have one Greek and one Hebrew, they would be BDAG and HALOT. However, if I can have more, then I would want for the NT: BDAG, TDNT, NIDNTTE, TLNT, LN, and EDNT. I own most of these, and use them all regularly. For the OT, one would need BDB, HALOT, NIDOTTE, TDOT, TLOT, TWOT, and DCH. I also use these regularly, although I do not yet own DCH (it being VERY expensive).

Rev. Keister, just curious about your thoughts on the use of Liddell & Scott in NT studies?