Thoughts on Phoenix Seminary

Status
Not open for further replies.
J

jshealey

I began my seminary studies at Liberty in fall of 2007 as an Arminian and found myself embracing the doctrines of grace by the time I graduated with an MA in Religion several years later. I have considered returning to school to obtain an MDiv but I have no desire to return to Liberty and have been looking into other seminaries. While an explicitly reformed/Calvinistic seminary would be ideal, it is not a necessity as long as they are not antagonistic towards the Reformed understanding of the faith.

My question is this: does anyone here have experience with Phoenix Seminary? I looked into them several years back and didn't see anything that raised any real concerns for me and I am seriously considering applying for admission as I am considering a move to the Phoenix area within the next couple of years.

What is the purpose of seeking an M.Div.? Do you aspire to pastoral ministry? or Are you simply interested in gaining a more in-depth theological education?

What is the purpose of seeking an M.Div.? Do you aspire to pastoral ministry? or Are you simply interested in gaining a more in-depth theological education?
I do aspire to enter pastoral ministry at some point in the near future.

Phoenix Seminary is better than most, but not one of the best.

By the way, if you do come to Phoenix, please make sure you stop in to Phoenix Reformed Baptist Church. :)

No church in particular. I'm pretty sure I know what you're getting at with this line of questioning and want to assure you that I have no intention of applying to seminary without the full support of my elders. I am merely on a fact-finding mission at this point as I want to make sure any school I do decide to apply to is solid.

Phoenix Seminary is better than most, but not one of the best.

By the way, if you do come to Phoenix, please make sure you stop in to Phoenix Reformed Baptist Church. :)