Undergraduate Study and Future Seminary Plans

Status
Not open for further replies.

Justified

Puritan Board Sophomore
Hello I'm Evan Kramer. I'm rather new to the Puritanboard, and I was hoping for some counsel and advice. Next year I will be a student at University of Iowa. I will be a double major in classics and economics. This is where the question arises. Originally my second major was philosophy. However, I came up with the idea of getting my degree also in economics, so that I might work for a couple years before going to seminary. Is this a sound idea? Also, theoretically, if I graduate with no student debt (which is possible and probable) is it better to go directly to seminary? How many of you entered Seminary with debt? My current thinking is to go work for a couple years and be mentored for several years before going to seminary. What is the best advice you have? Would it be better to drop the economics degree and pick up something else? Thanks for any and all help!

Speaking as someone who has spent most of his career dealing with debt and debtors, I would say:

It is well to avoid debt. It is even better to avoid student loan debt. There is clearly a difference in quality of life between those who are burdened with student loan debt and those who are not.

It is good to have a skill, or trade, or profession to fall back on. There may be times when you are without a call (either through no fault of your own, or because of something you have done or not done). On the other hand, I'm not sure how well economics would meet that goal.

Oh, and by the way, 'Greetings'.